Groveling Obeisance #6: The Band in Heaven

demos Cover Art

The Band in Heaven record the kind of music I used to bitch about not hearing enough of when I was a college radio DJ and the station’s music director.  Back then I would complain, mostly to David of An Uncontrollable Urge, that there weren’t enough early 90’s revivalists.  Perhaps I wasn’t searching high and low, maybe I had a head-ache from the post-Arcade Fire and post-dance punk revival hangover, but damn I wanted to hear loud distorted guitars, dreamy/stoned-sounding vocalists, and overall better fuckin’ music.

Enter the past few years (you probably know the story): Slumberland reboots, Vivian Girls get popular, Nirvana is reissued, Pavement reunites, garage rock gets popular, and all of this ushers in a new wave of totally awesome loud guitar rock…

Haha, it hasn’t been that easy, folks.  See: chill-wave, Pitchfork, MIA, etc…

But luckily, we do have a new group from West Palm Beach, Florida, who I would’ve played each and every of my college radio shows.  Instead, I’ve dedicated a few hundred words to them on my blog.

The Band in Heaven play epic shoe-gaze hits for the children and the puppies of America.  I think they would’ve fit in perfectly in the scene in Toy Story 3 when the toys all are almost incinerated.  Or on a split 7-inch with Black Tambourine on Slumberland Records in 1990.

Either way, tune into The Band in Heaven demos on their website featuring a killer cover of the Cranberries’ “Dreams.”

Plus!  They agreed to enter into the Groveling Obeisance family, answering my flaccid, insipid questions out of the goodness of their hearts:

1.  Why do you make music?

Because every time I break up a band and decide to leave music for good within two weeks I’ve already got ten songs churning in my head begging for a new band. It’s also just  too important a factor of my life to just watch from the sidelines, from the audience. I want to shape where it goes, because no matter what, I’m going to be there eventually, listening to it. May as well be a part of how it shapes itself over the years.

2.  What records, off the top of your head, greatly changed the way you thought about music?

Both Spacemen 3’s Perfect Prescription and Velvet Underground & Nico album completely changed the way I’d ever hear or think about making music. It made me see how powerful juts two chords could be, just how far they could carry a song, how much depth they could have. Both bands use the simplest structure’s like a white canvas and experiment within it’s confines perfectly. I also think their openness about drug use, just their overall readiness to completely invite you into their own (seedy) underground is so brave.

3.  If there was a fire, and you had to grab one musical instrument and one other random favorite item, what would those be and why?

I wish I could say I have some attachment to some specific instrument that I’ve had for years that has sentimental attachment to me but the truth is I regularly pawn things I love for money so I don’t have anything other than a cheap guitar and some ukuleles. I’d probably just grab my Mac…. it’s where I’ve done all my own recording for the past 6 years. I love being able to record my own music in my own room whenever I want. I’ll wake up in the middle of the night and record. I’m a really bad actor so I can’t fake emotions well or anything when I record, but being able to record in moments of despair has been key at capturing some interesting moods.

Leave a Reply

