Groveling Obeisance #10: Nodzzz

The first time I heard Nodzzz hit single “I Don’t Wanna (Smoke Marijuana)” I got terribly confused and hurt by the sentiments and immediately took the vinyl off the turntable.

A few weeks later, I heard the same tune on my friend Erika’s awesome radio show Expressway to Yr Skull and realized I had been tricked by my own stupidity.  I wasn’t being open-minded enough to actually listen to the most catchy tune I’d heard in months.  Quite honestly I wasn’t paying attention and majorly fucked up.

After hearing the song for a few dozen more times, subsequently getting it stuck in my head for a couple decades, and then playing it for all my homies, I decided that Nodzzz were the God’s gift to the world and wanted to ask them (Anthony) questions:

1.  Why do you make music?

Anthony: I started playing bass guitar when I was 9, and started my first band in the 6th grade. I don’t really have a clear understanding why I play music still but I think it’s a combination of compulsion and feeling more comfort doing something familiar. At any given time I might have a new justification for it. Lately, I’ll say it allows me do a variety of things which I find enjoyable: drawing, traveling, putting out records.

2.  What records, off the top of your head, greatly changed the way you thought about music?

White Light/White Heat was my favorite VU record in high school. I’d put it on before going to sleep. “Sister Ray” absolutely blew my mind. I was moved every time I listened to it. The Side A songs were explosive too, and the more literary aspects effected me. I could relate to pathetic Waldo Jeffers. Now, I think of every unconventional pop band operating on a scale of somewhat-approaching-the-greatness-of-the-Velvets, or failing. It’s a matter of degree. To add one more bit, an opinion like mine is so common that it’s fallen to cliche. I’ve a great NME 1981 cassette comp where the author of the linear notes sarcastically compares each band to the ’67 Velvets or the ’69 Velvets. I do this in my head to most bands, if they’re at all any good.

3.  If you randomly inherited a billion dollahs from a long-lost senile uncle, what would you buy first and why?

I could answer this question practically or fantastically. Good lifelong season tickets for the SF Giants would be fun, but what about a summer home in Olympia, Washington, or something personal like airplane tickets to Miami so I could be with my grandmother. A billion is a little more than I need, but a cool million I could do a lot with.
Leave a Reply

