Concert #40: King Khan and the Shrines @ The Met

King Khan and the Shrines, Gentleman Jesse and His Men @ The Met, Pawtucket, RI, October 12, 2010

King Khan and the Shrines helped de-flower the new venue in downtown Pawtucket, known simply as The Met.

The crowd went absolutely berserk during the show, dancing and politely moshing to King Khan and his tight-as-fuck James Brown-esque group of professional performers.

The highlight of the show came at the start of the encore.  Khan’s charming crew stayed on stage, making a noisey racket while the King hid in the back, presumably changing costumes.  During the small break, I had a sneezing fit, possibly the worse I’ve ever had in my life.

I ran outside, sneezed forty-seven times, and ran back inside just in time to see King Khan re-emerge from the back, changed into his James Brown Golden cape, without a shirt on, of course.  You can see the photos above.

What came next was truly special: King Khan and the Shrines started into Suicide’s brilliant song “Ghost Rider,” just as I was weaving my way back up front after my brush with death.  I sorta dove into the crowd and starting screaming along, bothering most of the people around me with my sudden display of physical brutality.

Without pausing for breath, the group went from “Ghost Rider” into “No Regrets,” one of my favorite King Khan tracks.  This song created another euphoric frenzy and truly brought the night into a transcendent territory.

Between the surprisingly enthusiastic crowd and the intense charisma from King Khan and the Shrines, the night exceeded my expectations and will be remembered fondly for years to come.

Lesson: Don’t miss a King Khan show when he’s in town, ever!

Leave a Reply

